10 year reflection

A good friend emailed a group of us today in regards to the 10th anniversary of 9/11.  She spoke of the unique ability for our generation to bookend 10 years of our lives and take a look back at where we were then..and how far we’ve come.  On September 11, 2001, I was a Junior in high school and I was in English class when I found out about the attacks.  I remember another student running into the room with the news..and everyone looking at him as if he were joking..until we turned on the tv in the room.  He was not joking.  The rest of our day was spent watching as this tragedy unfolded…and the days following continued with more reflection and continued thoughts of what had happened and what our community could do to help those that were personally effected.

10 years ago I was 16, a junior in high school, and had no clue where life was going to lead me.  I didn’t know I would attend the University of Georgia or join a sorority.  I didn’t know that the guy I took to prom the following spring would become my best friend..and eventually, my husband.  I didn’t know what I wanted to do in life, career wise…and I surely didn’t think that 10 years later I would still be asking myself that question.

And today?  Well, today I am 26 and just moved back to my hometown after spending 3 years in Dallas, TX.  Today, I’ve been married to that guy I took to prom for a little over 3 years.  I’ve had my first “big girl job” and am trying to sort out what I want to do with my life.  I know I want to serve..I want to make an impact on the community I live in.  I just need to figure out HOW I want to do that.  Today, I cherish the friendships I have.  I am so thankful that the great friends I had 10 years ago are still part of my life.

Today, I thank God that there are men and women in this country who want to serve and protect us, so that I can have those great friendships and have a community to serve. Today, I remember the unity that encompassed our nation after 9/11 and wish we would continue that spirit of lending a helping hand and giving time to those in need. My desire is to do just that..to help those in times of need.

Leave a Reply

