Running with Purpose

Those of you who know me..know that I love to run.  Unfortunately, I am way out of practice and I’ve been having trouble fitting this love into my new schedule (partially due to daylight).  I got one run in this week (only 15 minutes) before going into work.  I’ll, hopefully, be able to start using the fitness center at work soon…at which point I can at least run on a treadmill after work…or maybe head in early and get the run in before work (this will be much more challenging…again, if you know me you know I love my sleep).

Ok..to get to the guts of this post.  With the move back to Nashville, something I’ve been wanting to do is start running races again.  I enjoy competing and it gives me motivation.  In addition, many races are for a good cause…there are lots of benefit runs.  So, I’ve signed up for 2 upcoming races.  The first one is a Turkey Trot through D1 in Franklin that supports Graceworks Ministries, a really great organization serving our Middle Tennessee neighbors in need through a food pantry and thrift store.  Mom and I started a tradition last year of running a race the morning of Thanksgiving.

The second race I’m doing (again, with my mom) is the Bridge to Bridge supporting the Salvation Army’s Angel Tree Program.  Now, this is where I need a little participation! Each participant is asked to raise $50.  So, I’m reaching out through my blog to ask for support!  This year the goal is to raise enough money to provide for 18,000 angels!  Pretty incredible goal, right?  Your donation will help provide much needed items such as school uniforms, shoes, clothing and even bed sheets- plus a Christmas wish; a toy for a child in need.

So, if you would like to join me in supporting the Salvation Army in accomplishing their goal and putting a smile on a child’s face Christmas morning, please go to my donation page.

Leave a Reply

