The Land Between

Several weeks ago our pastor did a really great sermon entitled “The Land Between” and the message continues to be a helpful reminder and lift my heart.  The simple message was “you are not alone during times of trial.”  But there was much more to the message.  The focus of the sermon was centered around Numbers 11:4-17.

Quail From the LORD

4 The rabble with them began to crave other food, and again the Israelites started wailing and said, “If only we had meat to eat! 5 We remember the fish we ate in Egypt at no cost—also the cucumbers, melons, leeks, onions and garlic. 6But now we have lost our appetite; we never see anything but this manna!”

7 The manna was like coriander seed and looked like resin. 8 The people went around gathering it, and then ground it in a hand mill or crushed it in a mortar. They cooked it in a pot or made it into loaves. And it tasted like something made with olive oil. 9When the dew settled on the camp at night, the manna also came down.

10 Moses heard the people of every family wailing at the entrance to their tents. The LORD became exceedingly angry, and Moses was troubled. 11 He asked the LORD, “Why have you brought this trouble on your servant? What have I done to displease you that you put the burden of all these people on me? 12 Did I conceive all these people? Did I give them birth? Why do you tell me to carry them in my arms, as a nurse carries an infant, to the land you promised on oath to their ancestors? 13 Where can I get meat for all these people? They keep wailing to me, ‘Give us meat to eat!’ 14 I cannot carry all these people by myself; the burden is too heavy for me. 15If this is how you are going to treat me, please go ahead and kill me—if I have found favor in your eyes—and do not let me face my own ruin.”

16 The LORD said to Moses: “Bring me seventy of Israel’s elders who are known to you as leaders and officials among the people. Have them come to the tent of meeting, that they may stand there with you. 17 I will come down and speak with you there, and I will take some of the power of the Spirit that is on you and put it on them. They will share the burden of the people with you so that you will not have to carry it alone.”

So, the Israelites were literally in the land between Egypt and the promised land.  As one can imagine, they were sick of eating the same thing day in and day out…they wanted MEAT, and fruit…and really, just some variety!  Moses, being the leader of this group, was burdened with the complaints and the inability to provide his people with what they desired.  He was SO burdened that he rather be dead than to continue to be solely responsible for the happiness of his people.  What did God do?  He took some of the burden away from Moses and He spread the burden among others.

God is good, and he provides help in times of trouble.  Josh and I are in a bit of our own Between Land (as I know many people are)…and it is definitely HARD sometimes.  It’s hard to face job rejection, hard to study for that looming test, hard to face financial obligations when you don’t have much income.  I am so thankful I am not in this life alone and God has provided me with a loving husband and a fantastic family (on both sides) who loves and supports us and has our best interests at heart.

When you feel helpess and stuck, always remember you are NOT alone.

One thought on “The Land Between

  1. Pingback: The Secrets of a Contented Life « Vincent Adventures

Leave a Reply

