Book on the Nook

Like many of you out there, it took me a good long while to warm up to the idea of an e-reader.  For starters, I was never a big reader growing up and my enjoyment of reading didn’t come until after college, when I could actually read for fun.  Additionally, I love turning pages and having a book in hand.  But the more I thought about it, the more I learned how practical an e-reader is and loved the portability of multiple books all loaded to one device.  So, I decided an e-reader would be my big item for my Christmas Wishlist.  So thankful I got the Nook Tablet for Christmas (thanks mom and dad).  My first read for 2012 was Tina Fey’s Bossypants.

It was absolutely hysterical and a great read.  If you love 30Rock like we do, you’ll find yourself hearing Liz Lemmon’s voice in your head.  Well, I guess that just means you’re hearing Tina Fey’s voice in your head…but it made the book that much better.

I would definitely suggest it to anyone looking for a light read.

The thing I love about the Nook??  I can download another book immediately!  I don’t have to wait until I find time to go to the bookstore, all the books are right there, just a download away.  So right after I finished Bossypants  I downloaded my next read, The Hunger Games. You see, I woke up last weekend at 7:30 and couldn’t go back to sleep.  Which is a real shame, but not the topic of this post.  Josh wasn’t up yet and I wasn’t quite ready to be up so I grabbed my nook, curled up in bed next to Josh and Pierre, finished Bossypants and dove right into The Hunger Games.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to like the series, so I only bought the first book…didn’t want to make an investment if I wouldn’t finish the series.  Well, that turned out to be a mistake because I’m loving this book so far.  I go straight to reading in the evenings and have loved the story thus far.

One last thing I LOVE about the Nook.  You can read magazines and a “flip” of the page is simulated on screen.  Think of all that paper you save by reading magazines virtually.

Leave a Reply

