Workless Weekend

This was my first weekend without having to work since Christmas (and I only got off because I was out-of-town) and I thoroughly enjoyed my time off!  It was also the first weekend Josh didn’t have to study for a test, which meant an even BETTER weekend because we were able to spend the entire time together!

Saturday morning I woke up at 7:30.  Not my ideal idea of a Saturday morning..but I was able to finish Catching Fire before Josh woke up, which was a little bonus to the fact that I couldn’t sleep.  I had big plans for us and it started with eggs and toast for breakfast.  This was a vast improvement from our usually rushed bowl of cereal (if we have time to eat at all).  Then we headed to Radnor Lake for a hike…but both parking lots were jammed full so we headed home and took a stroll down our street instead.  This was just as good as a hike, but for different reasons.  All of the cows and horses of the surrounding farms were close to the road and we were able to see many baby calves.  There were some super fuzzy ones that were just adorable.

This picture is from last fall, but we could have easily snapped the same shot on Saturday.  The cows always tend to stare as you pass.  I love walking/running up and down our street, it’s so peaceful.  Our walk on Saturday was a bit cold and windy at first, but by the end we had worked up a sweat.  It was great!

This is another pictures from last fall.  It’s from an early morning run.  But it gives you the idea of what we get to see on walks.  This is from the top of a large hill on the way back to the house.

After our walk, we turned on Ben-Hur for a classic movie experience/nap time.  The movie was great, and time with my husband was the biggest highlight of the entire weekend.  Saturday night we headed to Mellow Mushroom for some brews and pizza.  The pizza is always good (the Kosmic Karma and House Special are two of our favorites).  Josh and I also like the abundance of their beer menu.  It probably has one of the largest beer menus in Franklin.  Pizza night was followed by a movie at home.  We selected Horrible Bosses for the evening.  It was super funny, but there was a lot of bad language.

Sunday started with church and communion.  Our church always does communion on the first Sunday of the month.  I always look forward to these services because communion is something I find very special.  After church we headed to the Perch to grab a coffee for the drive home.  If you haven’t been to the Perch and are in the Brentwood area, you have to check it out.  It’s a very tiny place, but packs some delicious treats.  One of my favorites is the Nutella Crepe.  I don’t suggest going when you are pressed for time.  The wait for a crepe yesterday was 50 minutes and it was a good 15 minutes before we got our coffee.  Josh and I noticed that they also do tapas, wine and beer in the evenings.  They have a nice little patio and once it warms up a bit more, we want to try it out in the evening.

The rest of Sunday seems to be all about food.  Sunday afternoon we went to brunch with some old friends that we haven’t seen since being back in town.  We headed to Hillsboro Village for a delicious brunch at Boscos.  The omelets were great, there was some nice live music, and the Bloody Mary was nice and peppery.  I highly suggest their brunch.  It’s delicious and decently priced.

We wrapped up the weekend with dinner at my parents’ house.  The food was fantastic, as always, and we had a great time together.

I loved that we were able to spend time with both of our families this weekend.  Family is so important and after being away from the for three years, I cherish the time I have with them.

One thought on “Workless Weekend

  1. Pingback: Old Friends Show Us the Ropes | Vincent Adventures

Leave a Reply

