Lovely weekend

This weekend was pretty close to perfect.  Saturday we got up and ran a few errands and then relaxed a bit before I headed to Hallmark for one of my last shifts!  I have finally turned in my resignation letter!  Hallmark has been a great place…but I’m ready to have my weekends back, especially with the awesome weather starting.  Looking forward to Saturday hikes and time outside.

Sunday we slept in.  I always regret this a little, especially on Sundays when we miss church.  But…we did go on an amazing walk!!  We headed out for a short walk through the neighborhood close to the house (we don’t actually live in a neighborhood…just a good ole’ country road where cows are our neighbors).  Not long into our walk we found ourselves on a bit of an adventure, walking along the railroad tracks on a gravel road.  Our detour ended up being over 5 miles and aching feet were the reward.  Despite the aching feet, it was a great day to be outside and we were able to see some great pops of Spring!  This is when I regret not having a small camera to carry with me at all times…wish I had some pictures from our adventure!  But the time with Josh was so great and adventuring is one of our favorite things to do together.

We headed over to my parents’ house for lunch (a fiesta!) and came home with a grill!  My dad had his grill from the Michigan house and didn’t need it..so we got it!  We headed back home to get some packages ready to ship out and had great plans for the rest of the day…but exhaustion got the better of us and we didn’t get much accomplished in the afternoon.

I did make a pretty fantastic dinner…easy by fantastic.  Farfalle pasta with pesto, grilled chicken, and some roasted veggies (yellow squash, zucchini, red onion, and red pepper).  So tasty!  And we finished the night with an interesting movie: Atlas Shrugged, which is based on a book by Ayn Rand.  The book is from 1957 and Josh was familiar with it and the movie was released last year. 

And that sums up our weekend.  Did you do anything fun?

Leave a Reply

