Cut ’em all up

I don’t know about you…but often times some of my produce doesn’t get used before it goes bad.  Yesterday I took a trip to the grocery to stock up on a bunch of veggies for the week but I wanted to be sure not to OVER buy, which can be hard when all of the produce looks AMAZING!

I’ve learned that if I go right home, cut everything up and put it in containers, I tend to use it up before it goes bad.  Last night I sliced a bunch of red and yellow peppers, zucchini, yellow squash, strawberries, and a cucumber.

Some of the peppers, zucchini and squash were used right away for dinner last night, but some were put back in the refrigerator to use later this week.  I put the extra zucchini and squash in a ziplock with some marinade to serve up with some chicken tomorrow and packed the strawberries and cucumber in easily accessible tupperware.  This morning, all I had to do was throw some of each in ziplocks and toss them in my bag for work.  So easy when the prep work is already done!

I also reorganized the refrigerator, putting all the newly chopped veggies right where I can easily get to them.  I am pretty proud of all the healthy stuff in our fridge right now!  Please disregard the leftover mellow mushroom pizza and the jello pudding (hiding behind all those veggies on the top shelf).  At least the pudding is fat free…right??

Last night we grilled some chicken and roasted some of the veggies for dinner.  We even had leftovers for lunch today..so good!

How do you use up all your fruits and veggies before they go bad?

One thought on “Cut ’em all up

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Smoothie | Vincent Adventures

Leave a Reply

