Back To School

Yes, you read correctly!  I am going back to school NEXT WEEK!  It’s been a long road of decision making, BUT I’ve actually made decisions about my future and I am so excited about this next HUGE adventure.

So, I’m sure you’re thinking..Milli, what are you going back to school for?  Well here you go:

After leaving Dallas almost a year ago, I knew I really wanted to start figuring out my next steps towards figuring out a career.  Here’s what I knew about myself: I love helping people, I love children, and I desire to make a difference in the lives of others.  Well, all of those things can manifest in tons careers but there were 2 fields that really grabbed my attention: nursing and teaching.  I started volunteering with this great organization, Harvest Hands.  They exist to serve the South Nashville community and I specifically got involved to work with the elementary after school program.  For the past year I have spent one afternoon a week with about 10 children, getting to know them, playing with them, and helping them with their homework.  I LOVEbeing with these children and it kind of dawned on me that I desired to serve in a larger capacity.  I don’t want to just spend one afternoon a week with them, I want to spend all day with them.

So, nursing was out the door and I applied to Lipscomb’s Graduate Education program.  Classes start next week and I couldn’t be more excited.  I can’t wait to soak up everything I can and become the best educator I can.  I’m starting with just the teaching licensure program and will add the graduate courses once I take the GRE.

 

 

 

Looking forward to sharing this new adventure as it unfolds!

One thought on “Back To School

  1. Pingback: Back to School: Bag Edition | Vincent Adventures

Leave a Reply

