Thankful Thursdays

I’ve been reading this great book, One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp.  You can read more about the book on her website, but here is a little bit about the book (from the website):

“Ann Voskamp’s story is not happily ever after.  As a child, her sister was crushed under a truck in front of her and her mother.  Consequently, her mother checked herself into a psychiatric hospital and her father couldn’t find God.  As an adult, she stood beside her brother-in-law as he buried his first two sons.  Voskamp is a wife and mother who does not grin through the pain but battles to believe that in God is joy, and that there are as many gifts amid the grittiness of life as in the moments of celebration.

In One Thousand Gifts: A Dare  to Live Fully Right Where You Are, Ann strives to find the meaning of life and fully embrace the surprising truth from the final scenes of Jesus’ earthly life.  In the hours before Jesus’ execution, he took bread and gave thanks.  This fresh, heart-wrenching book unveils the long forgotten wonder that through the imitation of Christ’s thankfulness, we too can experience a life of joy.”

As I’ve read this book (I’m not too far in, still reading!), I’ve had a desire to create my own list of thanksgiving.  To be honest, sometimes it can be a challenge to come up with things we are TRULY thankful for.  Sometimes it’s challenging to be thankful at all, but I desire to LIVE FULLY and I truly believe that can be done by giving thanks to our amazing Creator for the things He has provided in our lives.

So, I will be sharing pieces of my thankful list every Thursday.  I’ll also try to share pieces of her book that have really left an impression on my heart.  I encourage you to pick up Ann’s book and read it yourself, but if nothing else, examine the things YOU are thankful for.

So to start it off, today I am thankful for:

  1. This cooler fall weather, especially the mornings
  2. Catch up phone calls with far-away friends during my evening drive home
  3. An adorable little sister who sends me silly face pics throughout the day.  She keeps me young.
  4. Early morning snuggles

I’ll hopefully have a way for you to link up with me next week…not quite there yet!

Leave a Reply

