Thankful Thursdays

I read some really great stuff in Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts this morning.  Rather than just sharing items from my gifts list, I thought I would also share some of the really good meat from the book.  This list of gifts really encompasses all the small moments in life.  Sure, some of the things I am thankful for a re the BIG things, but I am trying to follow Ann’s example and look for those SMALL things in life that give me joy.  She reminds me that it is the details that make up our life, they are what create the big picture and God is part of all of those tiny moments. It is so important for us to remember that God is there with us, He is part of EVERYTHING.

Ann also discusses Ephesians 5:20, “And give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.”  I think most people would say they attempt to be thankful for everything, but Ann makes a very good point that by being thankful for the broadness of EVERYTHING, we are often giving thanks for very little.  She says,

So, that is what I am attempting to do.  I want to embrace life-changing gratitude through my own list of gifts.  I don’t want to have an overarching attitude of thanksgiving that leaves me without memory of those small things that make me JOYFUL.  I want to cherish the little things, every day and remember that God is in those little moments with me.

This week I am thankful for:

10. The ability to dance like a fool without worry of what others think

11. Those rare mornings when Joshua and I get to enjoy breakfast together

12. Eating a delicious meal that I’ve prepared – savoring every bite

13. Clean sheets on a perfectly made bed

14. Hand written cards and notes (sending and receiving)

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

