Thanksgiving Recap

I hope you all enjoyed time with family and friends this Thanksgiving.

I got my Thanksgiving fun kicked off with my mom and sister over lunch on Wednesday.  It’s always fun when Olivia has school off and gets to come up to eat lunch with me..and even better when mom gets to join!

Girls lunch…we look nothing alike, right?

Wednesday night we joined some friends for their annual Turkey Bowl and had so much fun…even though I am absolutely terrible at bowling.  I did get a few strikes but still was not able to break 100 (I did say I was bad, right?).  Joshua, on the other hand bowled like a champ and lead our lane to 2 straight victories (proud wife).  Bowling was followed by Chick-fil-a and then home for some sleep before the Turkey Trot Thanksgiving morning.

This year our Thanksgiving was extra special because it was Joshua’s birthday!  For those of you that don’t know, Joshua was born on Thanksgiving, so I always think the Thanksgivings we get to celebrate his birthday are extra special.  Thanksgiving morning started with a the Turkey Trot with mom…Joshua enjoyed a few extra hours of sleep and I woke him with a warm cup of Starbucks + a new travel mug for his morning commute.  I sadly have no photos to document Joshua’s birthday or Thanksgiving because my phone completely died Wednesday night and wasn’t resurrected until Friday.

I made our traditional Barbeque Green Beans for the Vincent Thanksgiving lunch.  We had a great time visiting with Josh’s side of the family and even played a few rounds of catch phrase – which was so fun with a multi-generational group!  Over lunch we went around and took turns reading little slips with things to be thankful for, along with a verse of scripture.  I loved the idea and it was great to remember why we were gathered together.  We hung out with the Vincent side until 3:30ish and then headed over to my parents’ house.

Mom made a feast, as usual with turkey AND beef tenderloin this year (along with all of our usual sides).  We had a great time sitting around the table and enjoying one another.  Mom got a pad of paper out half way through the meal and had us all share what we were thankful for (we did about 5 rounds).  After dinner we retired to the family room to rest before dessert.  Joshua got to open his 2 awesome birthday presents – gear cufflinks and this print from Old Try!  He now has 2 great prints from them to hang in his new office.  I’ll post some pictures once we get them framed and hanging.

While hanging in the family room we took the opportunity to get some family photos…squished on the couch.

Left to Right: Joshua, Me, Olivia, Meg, Zach, Elsie

And that covers our Thanksgiving fun!  We intended to see Skyfall Thursday night but were too stuffed to sit through a movies.  We finally saw it yesterday – and it was AWESOME!

I’m thankful for a wonderful weekend to enjoy time with family.  It was great fun!

Leave a Reply

