twenty-nine + feeling fine

Twenty nine…teetering on the edge of 30 but still feeling a bit of that mid-20s spirit.  People often have a “30 before 30 bucket list” of things they want to accomplish, places they want to go, and things they want to do before turning 30. While I believe that life is in fact fleeting and every day should be lived to the fullest, I’m not going to outline the 30 things I want to do before I am 30.  Honestly, the thought of creating that list and trying to get all of those things accomplished stresses me out and causes  a bit of anxiety to rise in my chest. Instead of tackling a mountain of to-dos this year, I simply want to be.

I want to be present when I am with family and friends – not distracted by technology or things that aren’t pressing needs. I want to be joyful and find the happiness of life and really dwell in those moments. I want to be dedicated to all of those things that have importance in my life – whether that’s my faith, my family + friends, work, writing, exercising, or creating. I want to simply give the people I love and the activities I love dedicated time and space in my life.

I want to fully live life, taking advantage of the opportunities I am given without worrying about what I haven’t done, haven’t accomplished, or where I haven’t been.  This worry of the “have nots” really means I’m comparing my life to those who’ve done life differently. Instead, I want to focus on what I have done, have accomplished, and where I have been.  As I inch towards 30, I want to fully embrace where I am, what I’ve been given (which is an abundant amount!), and who I am becoming.

Here’s to putting worry, comparison, distraction on the shelf and embracing the joys of this life I’ve created.

 

Leave a Reply

